Experienced Attorneys Serving the Injured Since 1962
insurance adjuster with claimant

How Long Do I Have to Call My Insurance After a Crash?

There are several things that you need to do after a car accident. When you’re dealing with the physical and emotional toll of the accident, it can be easy to overlook some of the most important steps that help protect your rights.

One of the most important things you need to do is report the car accident to your insurance provider. However, you must also act quickly to call the insurance despite having specific timelines that allow for you to wait some time before reporting or filing a claim or lawsuit.

Texas Law

In Texas, when there’s a crash where there’s no police investigation and the accident results in injury, death, or $1,000 or more in property damage, you must report the accident within 10 days. When filing a claim or lawsuit, you must file your claim within two years of the accident date, but you must work quickly to report it.

Moving Quickly

While you have time limits that you must meet, the faster you work to report your accident and claim, the better. Insurance adjusters are looking at the ways they can deny your claim, and any delays can give adjusters the resources they need to minimize how much compensation you receive.

If you wait to report your accident or file your claim, insurance adjusters may try to say that your injuries are not as severe or that you don’t need money for property damage. Working quickly shows urgency in the matter, and an attorney can help you report the accident in a way that protects you from insurance adjusters’ tactics.

At The Edwards Law Firm, we work quickly on your behalf to help you pursue the compensation you need and deserve. Our Corpus Christi car accident attorneys stand by your side, providing you with the insight you need to safeguard your rights and move towards the most favorable resolution possible.

Call our firm today at (361) 541-6333 to discuss your rights in a free consultation.

Categories