location2914 South Padre Island Drive, Corpus Christi, TX 78415

Call Us Today for a Free Consultation


Helmet Laws Every Texas Motorcyclist Should Know

Posted on in Personal Injury

Texas motorcycle accident injury lawyerTraffic laws are often thought of as not a big deal. Most people do not go to jail for violating a traffic rule, such as speeding or not using appropriate safety equipment. However, traffic laws are one of the main ways the state keeps its roads orderly and as safe as possible. Some traffic laws apply equally to almost all drivers, like speed limits. If the speed limit on a road is 45 miles per hour, then everyone on that road is required to drive or ride at a speed not exceeding 45 miles per hour.

Other traffic laws are based on the type of vehicle being operated. For example, seatbelt requirements do not apply to motorcyclists, because motorcycles generally do not have seatbelts, and a seatbelt on a motorcycle could actually create a higher risk of harm. Instead, motorcyclists are required to wear helmets unless they meet certain legal conditions. 

Perhaps the greatest risks to motorcyclists on the road are careless drivers. A dangerous driver can defeat even the best motorcycle safety precautions. If you were injured in a motorcycle accident, an attorney may be able to help you recover compensation. 

Who is Required to Wear a Helmet While Riding in Texas?

Like most traffic laws in general, the laws governing motorcyclists are designed to keep everyone on the roads as safe as possible. Motorcyclists lack the protection of having a large metal vehicle surrounding them. Helmets are one of the main tools used to protect motorcyclists in the event of a crash. Texas riders (including passengers) are required to wear a helmet unless they meet all of the following requirements: 

  • Age - Anyone under 21 years old must wear a helmet. 
  • Insurance - You must carry liability insurance if you wish to ride without a helmet.
  • Training - Motorcyclists who have successfully completed a state-approved training course may be permitted to not wear a helmet if they meet the other two requirements. 

Even if you are certain that you meet all these requirements, it is still a good idea to wear a helmet - even a highly skilled rider can still get hurt during a run-in with a negligent driver. 

Another thing you should note is that if you fail to wear a helmet when you were legally required to, you could be considered to have negligently contributed to your own injuries after an accident. The amount of compensation you receive could be reduced, even if the other driver was mostly at fault. It is important to speak with an attorney if you are injured in a motorcycle accident, whether you were wearing a helmet or not. 

Contact a Nueces County Motorcycle Accident Attorney

The Edwards Law Firm is committed to helping motorcyclists recover compensation after being injured by a careless driver. Our skilled Corpus Christi motorcycle accident lawyers will strive to secure the highest possible award or settlement on your behalf. Call 361-698-7600 for a free consultation. 




  • elite lawyer badge badge badge badge
  • badge badge badge badge badge
Back to Top